CDET logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CDET Certification

TL;DR
  • CDET is offered through ESCO Group under HVAC Excellence Specialty Certifications and combines a written exam with a mandatory hands-on exam.
  • You must pass both components; the numerical cut score and pass rate are not publicly disclosed.
  • ESCO lists no prerequisites for this certification; the suggested 4-6 hours is course delivery time, not exam length.
  • The separately listed manual costs $47.95, but that is not the exam fee.

What CDET Certification Actually Covers

CDET Certification centers on Certified Duct and Envelope Testing: the skills used to measure how much air escapes from a building's duct system and how tight the building envelope itself is. These are diagnostic, measurement-driven tasks. Technicians who perform them are not guessing about comfort or efficiency problems; they are quantifying leakage and expressing the result in a form that contractors, raters, and inspectors can act on.

One point worth stating plainly: "CDET" is the identifier this site uses for the credential. The ESCO pages reviewed for this article do not establish it as an official abbreviation. If you are searching ESCO's catalog, look for the duct and envelope testing certification by its full name rather than relying on the acronym alone. If you want a primer on the name itself, see What Does CDET Stand For? and What Is CDET Certification?.

Why the distinction matters: Several unrelated credentials share similar letters. Everything on this page refers only to the duct and envelope testing certification from ESCO Group. Do not apply fee schedules, pass rates, or salary claims you find for any other credential to this one.

Who Stands Behind the Credential

The certification is administered by ESCO Group under its HVAC Excellence Specialty Certifications umbrella. ESCO documents a network of registered proctors, which is relevant because this exam has a hands-on component that requires a qualified person to observe your work. Whether a separate testing vendor is involved is not verified in public materials, so confirm the delivery arrangement directly with ESCO or your proctor before you schedule anything.

For a broader orientation to the credential and its place in the HVAC and building-performance world, the companion pieces What Is CDET? and CDET Meaning cover the basics in more depth.

Written Exam Plus Hands-On: How the Two Parts Fit

The structure is what separates this credential from many knowledge-only certifications. There are two components:

  • A written examination testing your understanding of envelope concepts, testing procedures, result expression, and terminology.
  • A mandatory hands-on examination in which you demonstrate the testing work itself.

Both components must be passed. A strong written score does not compensate for a weak practical, and the reverse is equally true. That makes preparation a two-track effort: you need the vocabulary and reasoning to answer written questions, and you need enough physical familiarity with test equipment and setup to perform without hesitation in front of a proctor.

What is not published about the format

ESCO's public pages do not disclose the written question format, the total number of items, how many are scored versus unscored, or the time limit for either component. Anyone quoting a specific question count or timer for this exam is not working from verified public information. Treat such numbers with skepticism, and ask your proctor or ESCO for current details before test day.

ComponentWhat Is KnownWhat Is Not Publicly Disclosed
Written examRequired; must be passedQuestion format, item counts, timer
Hands-on examMandatory; must be passedTask list, grading rubric, timer
Overall resultBoth parts must be passedNumerical cut score, pass rate

The Five Published Coverage Areas

ESCO publishes five coverage-area names for this certification. These are the topics the exam addresses, but they should not be read as a verified formal weighted blueprint. No percentage weights have been published, so no one can say which area carries the most questions. For a deeper walk through each area, see CDET Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 5 Content Areas.

Domain 1: Understanding of the Envelope

This is the conceptual foundation. Candidates should be able to explain what the building envelope is and why its airtightness matters for energy use, comfort, and moisture behavior.

  • Distinguish the conditioned space boundary from the rest of the structure
  • Recognize common leakage pathways such as penetrations, joints, and transitions
  • Understand how envelope leakage interacts with the duct system

Domain 2: Duct Leakage Testing Procedures

This area addresses how duct leakage is actually measured. Expect procedural thinking: equipment setup, sealing off registers and grilles, establishing test pressure, and recording readings correctly.

  • Sequence of steps for a duct leakage test
  • Preparing the duct system before measurement
  • Recognizing setup errors that corrupt results

Domain 3: Envelope (Structure) Testing Procedures

The structure-level counterpart to duct testing. Candidates should understand how a whole-building airtightness test is prepared and conducted, including how the building is put into the correct test condition.

  • Pre-test building preparation
  • Pressurizing or depressurizing the structure for measurement
  • Interpreting what the readings indicate about the shell

Domain 4: Methods of Expressing Results

Measuring is only half the job. This area covers how results are reported so they can be compared against targets and communicated to others.

  • Common ways leakage results are stated and normalized
  • Reading a result against a benchmark or requirement
  • Avoiding mismatched units or inconsistent reporting

Domain 5: Terminology

Precise vocabulary underpins every other area. Written questions often hinge on knowing exactly what a term means in this field.

  • Pressure, flow, and leakage vocabulary
  • Names of test equipment and components
  • Distinctions between similar-sounding terms
A caution on weighting: Because no weights are published, avoid the temptation to over-invest in one area based on a guess. Spread your effort across all five, and let practice results from our practice test site show you where your own gaps are.

What Is Not Publicly Disclosed

Being honest about the gaps is more useful than papering over them. The following details were not found in public ESCO materials at the time of review:

  • The numerical passing score and any published pass rate (see CDET Passing Score 2026 and CDET Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows for how we handle this uncertainty)
  • A current exam-version identifier or weighted blueprint; the manual's 2015 copyright is not a statement about which exam version is current
  • Whether books or calculators are permitted during testing
  • Whether remote delivery is available, and whether the exam is adaptive
  • How long the certification remains valid, and any renewal or continuing-education requirements

Before you commit to a test date, ask ESCO or your proctor about each of these directly. Calculator and reference-material rules in particular change how you should prepare, since some testing-procedure questions involve arithmetic on measured values.

Fees, Manual Cost, and Registration Mechanics

The current examination fee, and any difference between member and nonmember pricing, is not publicly verified. The one price that is documented is the manual, listed separately at $47.95. That figure is a study-material cost, not an exam fee, and it should not be mistaken for the total cost of certification.

Cost ItemStatus
Examination feeNot publicly verified
Member vs. nonmember pricingNot publicly verified
Manual (listed separately)$47.95; not an exam fee

Because ESCO documents a registered-proctor network, registration likely runs through a proctor or an ESCO channel, but you should confirm the exact process and any proctor-side charges before budgeting. Our CDET Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown tracks what can and cannot be verified, and CDET Exam Dates 2026 covers scheduling considerations.

Prerequisites and Training Time

ESCO lists no prerequisites for this certification. There is no required prior credential or mandated experience in the reviewed materials, which makes the barrier to entry low on paper. That said, "no prerequisites" does not mean "no preparation." The hands-on component rewards candidates who have actually handled the equipment or at least studied it closely.

You may see a suggested 4-6 hours associated with the program. That figure is course delivery time, not required training and not the length of the exam. Do not plan around it as either a minimum study requirement or a test duration. For more on eligibility, read CDET Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify, and for training options see CDET Training.

Key Takeaway

No prerequisites means anyone can sit for it, but the mandatory hands-on exam means you should get real exposure to duct and envelope test equipment before your attempt. Reading alone will not prepare you for the practical portion.

Where the Skill Gets Used

Duct and envelope testing is practical, field-facing work. The skills apply wherever someone needs to verify that a building and its distribution system perform as intended. Typical settings include:

  • HVAC contractors who need to verify duct tightness after installation or repair
  • Energy auditors and home performance professionals diagnosing comfort and efficiency complaints
  • Weatherization and retrofit programs that measure results before and after air sealing
  • Building inspectors and verifiers confirming compliance with tightness requirements
  • New-construction teams checking quality of the shell and duct system before closing walls

No verified compensation figures are available for this credential, so this article makes no salary claims. If you are weighing the career angle, our CDET Jobs overview, CDET Salary Guide 2026, and Is the CDET Certification Worth It? discuss the question qualitatively and flag what remains unverified.

Sequencing Your Preparation by Domain

Because the exam has a written and a practical side, the order in which you study matters more than the total hours. A sensible arrangement builds vocabulary first, then procedures, then reporting, then rehearsal. The timeline below is one way to sequence the five published areas.

Week 1

Terminology and Envelope Concepts

  • Work through Domain 5 vocabulary so later material makes sense
  • Study Domain 1: what the envelope is and how air leaks through it
  • Get the manual ($47.95, listed separately) and skim its structure
Week 2

Duct Leakage Procedures

  • Study Domain 2 step by step and write out the sequence from memory
  • Identify the setup mistakes that invalidate a test
  • Seek time with real test equipment if possible
Week 3

Envelope Procedures and Reporting

  • Study Domain 3 building preparation and test conditions
  • Study Domain 4 so you can state and compare results correctly
  • Practice unit handling and reading results against benchmarks
Week 4

Integration and Practical Rehearsal

  • Take timed practice questions on the main practice test
  • Rehearse the hands-on sequence aloud as if a proctor were watching
  • Revisit whichever domain your practice results show is weakest

Terminology goes first deliberately: the procedure and reporting areas assume you already speak the language. For a fuller approach to building a plan, see the CDET Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt and the quick-reference CDET Cheat Sheet 2026. If you want to gauge the challenge before committing, How Hard Is the CDET Exam? discusses difficulty without relying on unverified statistics.

Frequently Asked Questions

Who offers CDET Certification?

It is offered through ESCO Group under HVAC Excellence Specialty Certifications. ESCO documents a registered-proctor network, but whether a separate testing vendor is involved has not been verified in public materials.

Does the exam include a practical component?

Yes. There is a written examination plus a mandatory hands-on examination, and both must be passed. The written question format, item counts, and timers for both parts are not publicly disclosed.

How much does the exam cost?

The current examination fee and any member versus nonmember difference are not publicly verified. The manual is listed separately at $47.95, but that is a study-material cost, not the exam fee. Confirm the full cost with ESCO or your proctor.

Are there prerequisites?

ESCO lists none. The suggested 4-6 hours is course delivery time, not required training and not the exam length, so it should not be treated as a prerequisite or a test duration.

What is the passing score?

The numerical cut score and pass rate are not publicly disclosed. What is known is that both the written and hands-on components must be passed. Any specific percentage you encounter online should be treated as unverified.

Ready to pass your CDET exam?

Put this into practice with free CDET questions across every exam domain.