CDET logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CDET Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling

TL;DR
  • CDET is administered through ESCO Group under HVAC Excellence Specialty Certifications; verify every date directly with them.
  • The exam has a written part and a mandatory hands-on part, and you must pass both.
  • No fixed national testing calendar for CDET was located in public sources, so confirm sessions with a registered proctor.
  • The $47.95 manual is a study cost, not an exam fee; the exam fee itself is not publicly verified.

What "Exam Dates" Really Means for CDET in 2026

Most people searching for exam dates expect a calendar: a handful of fixed testing windows, a registration deadline, and a results release date. That model fits some certifications, but it should not be assumed for Certified Duct and Envelope Testing. The publicly reviewed ESCO materials do not publish a fixed national calendar of CDET testing windows, so any article claiming a rigid "2026 schedule" with specific dates would be guessing.

What can be said accurately is how the credential is structured and where scheduling authority sits. This guide walks through that structure, flags exactly which scheduling details are not publicly verified, and gives you a practical method for locking in a session without relying on invented dates. If you are still deciding whether to pursue the credential at all, start with What Is CDET Certification? and CDET Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify, then return here to plan your timeline.

A note on the acronym: On this site, CDET refers specifically to Certified Duct and Envelope Testing. The reviewed ESCO pages do not establish "CDET" as an official abbreviation, so when you contact the certifying body, use the full credential name to avoid confusion with unrelated programs that share similar letters.

Who Runs the Exam and Why That Shapes Scheduling

The certification sits with ESCO Group, under its HVAC Excellence Specialty Certifications umbrella. ESCO's registered-proctor network is documented, which matters for scheduling: exams in this ecosystem are typically delivered through approved proctors rather than through a single always-open consumer testing portal. A separate third-party testing vendor for CDET is unverified, so do not assume you can simply pick any seat at any commercial testing center on any day.

The practical consequence is that your available dates depend on proctor availability in your area, not on a national window that opens and closes for everyone simultaneously. That is good news for flexibility, but it means you need to ask the right questions early. Candidates who work for HVAC contractors, energy-efficiency firms, or training programs often find that an employer or instructor already has a proctor relationship, which can shorten the search considerably.

Two Components, Two Scheduling Questions

CDET consists of a written examination plus a mandatory hands-on examination. Both components must be passed to earn the certification. This two-part design is the single most important fact for scheduling, because the two parts have different logistical demands.

ComponentWhat It TestsScheduling Consideration
Written examinationKnowledge of envelope concepts, testing procedures, expressing results, and terminologyFormat, item counts, and timer are not publicly disclosed; confirm with your proctor
Hands-on examinationPractical performance of duct and envelope testing proceduresRequires equipment and a qualified evaluator, so availability is usually the bottleneck

Because you must pass both, a sensible plan treats the hands-on session as the anchor and the written exam as the part you can fit around it. Ask your proctor whether both components can be completed in a single visit or whether they are scheduled separately, since that answer is not publicly documented and changes how much time off work you need.

The Written Examination

ESCO's public pages do not disclose the written question format, the total number of questions, how many are scored versus unscored, or the time limit. Treat any specific number you see quoted elsewhere with suspicion unless it comes directly from ESCO or your proctor. What you can prepare for is the content, which maps to five published coverage areas rather than a verified weighted blueprint. For a deeper breakdown, see CDET Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 5 Content Areas.

The Hands-On Examination

The hands-on component is mandatory and is the part most candidates underestimate when planning. You are not just recalling definitions; you are demonstrating the ability to carry out testing procedures. That requires practice time with real or representative equipment, which is a scheduling variable in its own right. If you cannot access a blower-door-style setup or duct-testing equipment regularly, build that access into your timeline before you pick a date.

What Is Not Publicly Verified (and How to Close the Gaps)

Honesty about unknowns is more useful than false precision. The following scheduling-relevant details were not publicly verified in the reviewed ESCO materials, so confirm each one before committing money or time off work:

  • Fixed testing windows: No national calendar of CDET windows was located. Ask your proctor what dates they offer.
  • Remote availability: Whether any component can be taken remotely is not verified. The hands-on part in particular suggests in-person delivery, but confirm.
  • Adaptive delivery: Whether the written exam adapts to your answers is not publicly stated.
  • Book and calculator permissions: Not publicly verified. Do not assume open-book access or a particular calculator policy.
  • Exam version: No current exam-version identifier was located. The manual's 2015 copyright is not an exam-version declaration, so do not treat it as one.
  • Certification validity and renewal: How long the credential lasts, and any renewal or continuing-education requirements, are not publicly verified.
  • Cut score and pass rate: Neither is publicly disclosed. See CDET Passing Score 2026 and CDET Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows for what can and cannot be said.
Get answers in writing: When a proctor or ESCO representative confirms a date, a result timeline, or a policy, ask for it by email. Because so many CDET details are not publicly documented, a written confirmation protects you if plans change.

A Practical Booking Checklist

Rather than hunting for a date that may not be published, work through these steps in order. They apply regardless of which proctor you end up using.

  1. Confirm eligibility. ESCO lists no prerequisites for this credential, but verify that nothing has changed. The suggested 4 to 6 hours is course delivery time, not required training and not exam duration, so do not mistake it for a timing guide.
  2. Locate a registered proctor. ESCO documents a registered-proctor network. Start there, and ask your employer or training provider if they already work with one.
  3. Ask about both components together. Find out if the written and hands-on parts are offered on the same day, and what each session involves.
  4. Request the current fee in writing. The exam fee and any member versus nonmember difference are not publicly verified, so get a quote directly. More on this in the fees section below.
  5. Clarify the rules. Ask about permitted references and calculators, ID requirements, arrival time, and whether any equipment is supplied or must be brought.
  6. Ask about result timing. How and when you are notified is a question for your proctor.
  7. Book with buffer. Leave room before the date for hands-on practice and after it in case a retake is needed.

Working Backwards From Your Test Date

Once you have a confirmed session, build your preparation backwards from it. The one place generic scheduling advice earns its keep is in sequencing the five coverage areas sensibly. Because the weights for each area are unknown, do not over-invest in whichever one you guess is largest; instead, sequence by dependency. Terminology underpins everything, and procedures only make sense once you understand the envelope itself.

Week 1

Terminology and Understanding of the Envelope

  • Build vocabulary first so later material reads cleanly
  • Learn what the building envelope is and why leakage matters
Week 2

Duct Leakage Testing Procedures

  • Walk through the procedure step by step
  • Begin hands-on practice if you have equipment access
Week 3

Envelope (Structure) Testing Procedures

  • Study the structure-testing workflow and setup
  • Contrast it with duct leakage testing to avoid mixing them up
Week 4

Methods of Expressing Results and Full Review

  • Practice presenting and interpreting results correctly
  • Run a full mixed review across all five areas

For a fuller set of preparation strategies, including how to approach the material, read CDET Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt. If you want a fast refresher in the final days before your session, CDET Cheat Sheet 2026: One-Page Review of Must-Know Facts condenses the essentials.

The Five Published Coverage Areas

ESCO publishes five coverage-area names. These are the published topic areas, not a verified weighted blueprint, so every weight and the largest-weighted area remain unknown.

  • Understanding of the envelope
  • Duct leakage testing procedures
  • Envelope (structure) testing procedures
  • Methods expressing results
  • Terminology

Why the Hands-On Part Changes Your Timeline

Written knowledge can be built from a manual and practice questions in your spare evenings. Hands-on competence cannot. If you have never set up and run a duct or envelope test, give yourself enough lead time to do it several times under supervision before your session. Candidates who already perform this work on the job can compress the schedule; those coming from adjacent roles should lengthen it. If you are weighing how much difficulty to expect, How Hard Is the CDET Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026 explores what can be said about it.

Fees, Manuals, and Timing Your Purchases

Money and dates are linked, because a registration usually requires payment to hold your slot. The current CDET examination fee, and whether it differs between members and nonmembers, is not publicly verified. Do not budget from a number you found on an unrelated credential's page. Ask for the exact figure when you book.

The one concrete cost in the reviewed materials is the separately listed manual, priced at $47.95. That is a study resource, not an exam fee, and it should not be added to or confused with the registration cost. A sensible approach is to buy the manual as soon as you decide to pursue the credential, since reading it is the foundation of your preparation, and to hold off on paying the exam fee until you have a confirmed session and a clear sense of your readiness. For the broader financial picture, see CDET Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown.

Key Takeaway

Separate your costs mentally into three buckets: the manual ($47.95, a verified study cost), the exam fee (unverified, get a written quote), and any travel or time off for the hands-on session. Only the first has a confirmed number.

Planning for a Possible Retake

Because both components must be passed, a result that falls short on one part raises the question of what happens next. ESCO's public pages reviewed here do not spell out retake rules, waiting periods, or whether you retake only the failed component. Ask your proctor these questions before your first attempt rather than after.

From a scheduling standpoint, the safest move is to avoid booking your first attempt right before a deadline that matters, such as a job start date, a bid requirement, or a project that needs a certified tester. Building a few weeks of slack protects you if a second session is needed. Understanding what you are up against also helps, so review CDET Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass, keeping in mind that the numerical cut score is not publicly disclosed.

Timing the Exam Around Work and Hiring

The people who benefit most from CDET are those who test duct systems and building envelopes for a living or want to: HVAC technicians, energy auditors, home performance contractors, and building-performance professionals. For these roles, the credential often matters at specific moments, such as when a contractor wants to offer testing services, when a rater needs documented competence, or when someone is positioning for a new role.

Time your session to match those moments. If your employer is paying, coordinate dates so the hands-on portion fits a slow period rather than peak season. If you are paying yourself, consider whether you want the credential in hand before applying for positions. To understand what roles look for it, see CDET Jobs, and to weigh the return on the investment, read Is the CDET Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026 and CDET Salary Guide 2026: Complete Earnings Analysis.

If you want to gauge your readiness before you commit to a date, working through realistic practice questions on the main practice test site can reveal which of the five coverage areas needs the most attention. Pairing that with a clear target session is the most reliable way to avoid either rushing in underprepared or waiting longer than necessary. You can also explore our practice resources to structure your final review.

Frequently Asked Questions

Are there fixed CDET exam dates in 2026?

No fixed national calendar of CDET testing windows was located in the reviewed public ESCO materials. Because ESCO uses a registered-proctor network, available dates generally depend on the proctor you use. Contact a registered proctor or ESCO directly to confirm what is offered near you.

Does the CDET exam have both a written and a practical part?

Yes. The credential includes a written examination plus a mandatory hands-on examination, and both components must be passed. The written question format, item counts, and timers are not publicly disclosed, so confirm those details with your proctor.

How much does it cost to sit the exam?

The current examination fee, and any member versus nonmember difference, is not publicly verified. The only verified figure is the separately listed manual at $47.95, which is a study cost rather than an exam fee. Request a written fee quote when you book.

Do I need to complete a course before I can schedule the exam?

ESCO lists no prerequisites for this credential. The suggested 4 to 6 hours refers to course delivery time and is not a required training amount or an exam duration. Confirm current requirements with ESCO, and see our requirements guide for more detail.

Can I take the CDET exam remotely?

Remote availability is not publicly verified. Given that a hands-on examination is mandatory, plan on at least part of the process being completed in person, and ask your proctor exactly how each component is delivered before you book.

Ready to pass your CDET exam?

Put this into practice with free CDET questions across every exam domain.